top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Buwick

8/20/2019

Updated: Nov 25, 2019



I decided to apply to be an Au pair when was living in Charlotte, North Carolina with my parents. The thought of living across the world was pretty appealing because let's face it, moving home after living on your own for four years isn’t the easiest. I was coming down from the high of graduating and getting a start on my “adult life.” I was ready for an adventure I could call my own.


Fast forward eight months which finds me pretty comfortable in my new home in Athens, Georgia. I felt a pull to live with my best friend and sister, Julia, and explore a new place. I found a yoga studio and dance studio that I invested a lot of my time into. Making good friends out of strangers was harder than I thought, but I was finally getting to the point where I felt like I had a pretty solid friend group. 


Now here I am, 43 days from flying to Victoria, Australia. My emotions change daily. From sheer terror to excitement to nervousness to eagerness. I’ve always had a huge group of friends surrounding me. Now I'll have to calculate the 14 hour time difference when calling my people back in the States. Many nights I find myself restlessly waiting for sleep to overtake me. Thinking things like “am I prolonging my career by taking this trip?” or “what if I find somebody and I'm left with the dilemma of deciding to stay or move back home?”. Even though these thoughts constantly rattle in my brain, I know this is the right move. 


So, welcome to my blog. A way you can really follow what’s going on with myself & my life. Not just a highlight reel, but the vulnerable and not-so-fun parts too. Wish me luck, im going to need it!



73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3/3/2020

bottom of page