top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Buwick

3/3/2020

15 Things I didn't expect before moving to Australia





Tomorrow marks 5 months since I took off to live down under. I tried not to have many expectations before coming but the ones I did have could not have been farther off! Here's some of the things that have surprised me along the way:


1. I feel like i've gotten ten years older by taking care of three young kids & gotten ten years younger by living with a family again.

2. I've made far more friends from Europe rather than Australia.

3. I've grown to love not having plans.

4. Being far from friends and family make the hard times so much harder.

5. I miss my cat the most.

6. I started thinking "whoa my accent sounds strong."

7. I can't imagine driving on the right side of the road again.

8. I miss being able to see so many artists in concerts in the states.

9. People treat you differently when they know you are only there temporarily.

10. Parents are superheros and they don't get enough credit (thank your parents today:)

11. I go from having the best day of my life to wanting to go home the next day.

12. I don't like the coffee here (unpopular opinion I know).

13. I am obsessed with wildlife/nature/flowers.

14. I have never been so sleep deprived in my life.

15. I'm obsessed with Vegemite.


93 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page