top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Buwick

11/26/2019


Homesickness


I never knew how accurate that discription was until I really started to feel it. Sometimes I miss home or people so much I actually start to feel sick. Whether it be just wanting to spend a couple hours with my sister or mistakingly feeling my cat jump on my bed, I get hit with that deep pit in my stomach. You never really know how good you have it till it's gone.


Mentally preparing to spend Christmas completely alone for the first time. I'll be flying into Sydney then taking a bus to Byron Bay and i'm really excited about it. I haven't booked any yet but I think I'll be planning some bus tours around Sydney. Then I hope to see fireworks with a friend by the Sydney Opera House for New Years. I know it sounds all good and dandy but it'll be pretty weird staying in a hostel alone on Christmas Eve. Although I know i'm really fortunate to even be able to do something that.


Despite those moments I really am enjoying my time here. I'm so grateful I can meet people from around the world and get to know the Australia lifestyle by living with a family. I'm so blessed by the people in Australia and in the States who check in on me! Travel teaches you so much and it's something everyone should experience no matter the place or circumstances.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3/3/2020

bottom of page